MASTER
 
 

READING EVENT 1 PART 2: The Crooked Thing: Book Launch

By Whistler Writers Festival (other events)

Thursday, October 15 2020 6:00 PM 6:30 PM PST
 
ABOUT ABOUT

Mary MacDonald in conversation with Rebecca Wood Barrett

For fans of Alice Munro and Carol Shields comes an emotional and hopeful collection of short stories that delve into the tragedies that befall each of us in the search for goodness and meaning. Join author Mary MacDonald in conversation with Rebecca Wood Barrett to celebrate the launch of her first book of short stories, The Crooked Thing.

The English poet, William Blake said, “joy and woe are woven fine.” So it is in The Crooked Thing. A collection of intense and emotional stories, there are traumas and betrayals, loves and losses, missed opportunities and discoveries, and above all, hope. In tales delicate and steely, a troubled young ferryman finds himself with an unexpected passenger, a songbird finds its voice, a mother learns to let go of her son and, after a chance encounter, an aging ballerina dances again. At their core these are love stories; they move us, disturb us, and upend our beliefs, to show us characters not all that different from ourselves.

Moderator: Rebecca Wood Barrett

Mailing Address

Whistler BC V8E 0G5